Georgia Tech Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts

Policy@Tech Partners

Policy@Tech partners and the government agencies they have served:

Georgia Tech Leadership

President G. P. “Bud” Peterson (National Academies of Science, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Board, U.S. Congress)

Provost Rafael Bras (National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Research Council, National Science Foundation)

Executive Vice President for Research Steve Cross (Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, Defense Science Board, National Research Council)

College of Architecture

Michael Dobbins (City of Atlanta; City of Birmingham, Alabama; New York City Planning Department)

William Drummond (State of Georgia, Georgia Department of Technical and Adult Education, Georgia Governor’s Development Council, Georgia Information Technology Policy Council, University System of Georgia)

Michael Elliott (New York City Mayor’s Office, Georgia Department of Natural Resources, City of Atlanta, Atlanta Bureau of Cultural Affairs, Atlanta Mayor’s Office, City of Dalton (GA), City of Douglasville (GA), Georgia Health Care Commission, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, U.S. Information Agency, U.S. State Department, U.S. Urban Mass Transit Administration, U.N. Development Program)

Steven P. French (Atlanta Regional Commission, Atlanta-Fulton County Library, Coweta County (GA), Garfield County (CO), Georgia Regional Transportation Authority, Georgia Technology Authority, Kentucky Public Service Commission, San Luis Obispo County (CA), South Fulton Parkway Alliance (GA), University System of Georgia, US Centers for Disease Control, U.S. Dept of Energy)

Dan Immergluck (Federal Reserve Bank, Atlanta Regional Commission, Ohio Department of Development)

Catherine Ross (Transportation Research Board of the National Research Council, Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority, Atlanta Housing Authority, Atlanta Beltline, Inc., Atlanta Regional Commission, Camden County (GA), City of Decatur (GA), Georgia Department of Transportation, Georgia Legislature, Georgia Regional Transportation Authority, Hall County (GA), US Environmental Protection Agency, US Department of Transportation)

Bruce Stiftel  (Environmental Protection Agency, Florida Dept of Environmental Protection, Florida Legislature, North Carolina Dept of Natural Resources and Community Development, US Army Corps of Engineers, US Dept of the Interior, U.N. Human Settlements Programme)

Harry West (Atlanta Regional Commission)

College of Computing

David Bader (Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency)

Mark Braunstein (Georgia Department of Community Health (DCH); Board of the 
Georgia Advanced Technology Ventures (GATV); American-Israel Chamber of 

Henrik Christensen (White House Office of Science and Technology Policy,U.S. Department of Commerce, National Science Foundation, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, European Commission, U.S. Congress)

Ellen W. Zegura (National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation)

College of Engineering

Jane Ammons (National Science Foundation)

Bert Bras (National Science Foundation, Department of Energy)

Bobby Braun (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)

Robert Butera (Department of State)

John-Paul Clarke (National Aeronautics and Space Administration Jet Propulsion Laboratory, National Research Council Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board, Federal Aviation Agency)

Reginald DesRoches (National Academies Board on Infrastructure and the Constructed Environment; National Academies Disasters Roundtable Board; Board of the Earthquake Engineering  Research Institute)

Carlos Santiago Grijalva (Idaho National Lab; Lawrence Berkeley National Lab; Department of Energy; Oak Ridge National Lab; California Energy Commission, Argonne National Lab; TVA; Ecuadorian National Energy Control Center,  Ministry of Electricity, and Electrification Commission)

Nolan Hertel (Los Alamos National Laboratory, Department of Energy)

John Leonard (State of Georgia)

Jack Lohmann (National Science Foundation)

Gary May (National Science Foundation)

Mike Meyer (Transportation Research Board of the National Research Council, State of Massachusetts)

Robert Nerem (National Institutes of Health, National Research Council)

Amy Pritchett (Federal Aviation Agency, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Research Council Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board)

Mary Lynn Realff (National Science Foundation)

Valerie Thomas (U.S Congress, Environmental Protection Agency)

Ben Wang (Materials and Manufacturing Board of the National Research Council, National Academies)

Tim Lieuwen (National Petroleum Council, Department of Energy, and National Research Council Committee to Assess NASA’s Aeronautics Flight Research Capabilities)

Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts

Danny Boston (U.S. Congress, Atlanta Federal Reserve Bank, Atlanta Mayors' Council of Economic Advisors)

Marilyn Brown* (U.S. Congress, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Department of Energy, Environmental Protection Agency, Tennessee Valley Authority)

Susan Cozzens* (National Science Foundation, National Academies of Science, Environmental Protection Agency)

Seymour Goodman* (Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, National Research Council)

Margaret Kosal * (Department of Defense, National Nanotechnology Initiative, AAAS S&T Fellow)

Cheryl Leggon* (National Research Council)

Helena  Mitchell* (Federal Communications Commission)

Willie Pearson* (Office of Technology Assessment, National Science Foundation)

Christine Ries (State of Georgia)

Philip Shapira* (AAAS Congressional Fellow; Office of Technology Assessment; National Academies; Commonwealth of Massachusetts)

Ernest Scheller Jr. College of Business

Chris Forman (Federal Reserve System)

Stuart Graham (US Patent and Trademark Office)

John McIntyre (European Commission)

William J. Todd (Founding Director of the Georgia Research Alliance; Georgia 
Cancer Coalition)

College of Science

Judith Curry (Department of Energy, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Association, National Science Foundation)

Wing Suet Li (National Science Foundation)

Center for Education Integrating Science, Mathematics, and Computing (CEISMC)

Richard Millman (National Science Foundation)

Enterprise Innovation Institute

Chris Downing (State of Georgia)

Clovia Hamilton (Government Procurement)

Joy Hymel (State of Georgia)

Bill Meffert (State of Georgia)

Charles Schadl  (Department of Defense)

Ken Stewart (State of Georgia)

Georgia Tech Research Corporation (GTRC)

Jilda Garton (Federal Demonstration Project, Council on Governmental Relations, National Council of University Research Administrators)

Georgia Tech Research Institute (GTRI)

Eric Barnhart (Atlanta Regional Commission, Federal Communications Commission)

Chuck Dunehew (Department of Defense)

Marlit Hayslett (Georgia Legislature)

Bob McGrath (Battelle Memorial Institute)

Jim McGarrah (Department of Defense)

Rob Michelson (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory)

Jud Ready (Georgia State House)

Amy Sharma (AAAS S&T Policy Fellow, National Science Foundation)

* The star indicates individuals who meet the criteria used to select Partners but who are already affiliated with one of the Policy@Tech centers.


Policy@Tech partners are Georgia Tech faculty and administrators who currently serve or have served in a government administrative or policy position, on a government advisory board at a program level or above (including National Academy committees but not peer review committees), or in a consulting role with two or more agencies on policy issues.

Nominations for Policy@Tech can be submitted at

781 Marietta Street, Atlanta, GA 30332-0525